Get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.
After months of restoration, on March 14th, 2018, Onyx+East moved into their current Indianapolis headquarters. Located at 1828 Central Avenue in historic Herron-Morton, the building that is now occupied by the Onyx+East team has a rich history.
Built between 1915 and 1927, the 1-story commercial building operated as a furniture store in the ‘20s and a chemical manufactory in the ‘30s. Later, a large overhead door was installed, and it was used as a garage. A large stone tablet on the front of the building displays the name “Peter Pan”. The specific reason behind this unique emblem is unknown.
The 2-story section of the building was also built around 1920 and has served as a commercial and residential building. A Standard Grocery first occupied the space followed by an A&P and then a paint store. Today, the 2nd floor is home to the Onyx+East Design Studio and Landworx, a civil engineering and consulting firm.
In 2017, Onyx+East began working with The Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission on restoration with the goal to maintain the building’s historic appeal while improving its functionality and appearance.
Today, our O+E team enjoys opening the two garage doors on a warm, sunny day giving new meaning to the “Open Office” concept. The back patio is used for company events, cook-outs and working outside. Inside, the original exposed brick is a testimony of the unique history of the space we occupy.
Part of our focus at O+E is to use our gifts to transform communities while respecting and preserving the history of each neighborhood. Our office is no exception to that part of our mission.
–Eric Jefferson, Director of Sales